Meet the Alpha Phi Initiate Class!

22519300_10155841689105746_8518534762038195893_n

On October 1st, Beta Sigma welcomed the Alpha Phi Initiate class into our chapter.  We are so excited to have them, and we cannot wait to see the Brothers they’ll become!

 

Marie Baenen

unnamed-4

“My name is Marie Baenen and I am a sophomore pre-nursing student. I am from Bloomfield Hills, Michigan. I ran cross country and played tennis for four years at Bloomfield Hills High School. I still love to run and play tennis in my free time. I am on the Club Tennis Team, and I’m currently training for a half marathon. I have three sisters, three dogs, and two cats at home.”

 

 

 

Jillian Jakubiec

IMG_8089 edit 3

“I am a sophomore studying mechanical engineering here at Michigan State University. Some of my passions include hiking/camping, playing guitar and singing, meeting diverse people, and traveling. I lived in Italy for three years of my life which has shaped me into the open-minded individual I am today. I’m excited for my journey with PSP!”

 

 

 

Paris Conquest

18622455_1376164235782297_7289587889879210334_n

“Hello my name is Paris Conquest, and I’m a sophomore Studio Art major in the Alpha Phi rush class. I am the proud mother of a dog named Delilah and a fish named Clarke Nonamé Deadpool Van Conquest. My extracurriculars include outdoors club, hammocking club, and snow carving. I enjoy watching Netflix, listening to music (especially Beyoncé), napping, and spending time with friends.”

 

 

Taylor Bell

unnamed-5.jpg

“My name is Taylor Bell and I’m a sophomore studying Political Theory and Constitutional Democracy! I struggled to find a picture for myself for this post because I’m normally the one behind the lens. When I’m not cramming in all of my assignments, I’m always taking pictures! I recently started doing senior pictures and engagement pictures, too. I would never be able to live without art or music in my life.”

 

 

Lauren Lahie

unnamed-7

“Hello! My name is Lauren Lahie and I am a sophomore at Michigan State University studying Public Policy with a minor in Environmental and Sustainability Studies. On campus, I am involved with the Residential Initiative on the Study of the Environment (RISE), and of course, Phi Sigma Pi. In addition, I work as an Academic Advisor for the minor in Environmental and Sustainability Studies, a Teaching Assistant for the Environmental Issues Seminar, and as a Tutor for social science, writing, and arts and humanities courses. In my free time, I enjoy going to football and hockey games, as well as hammocking, tie-dying, volunteering in the Bailey Greenhouse, traveling, and hiking. I eventually want to become a Constitutional Lawyer, and work on behalf of promoting women’s rights and environmental sustainability.”

 

A.J. Shaw

img_3782.jpg

“My name is Alexander Shaw but everybody calls me A.J. I am a Sophomore here at MSU pursuing a degree in Applied Engineering Sciences with a concentration in Supply Chain Management. I am from Troy, Michigan. I am very passionate about sports, both watching and playing, especially football, soccer, and lacrosse. I play club lacrosse here at MSU. I have a twin sister who goes to school at U of M (I know, I know). I also have a pet dog named Sierra, who is an American Eskimo.”

 

Eric Moser

unnamed

“My name is Eric Moser, and I am a Sophomore studying Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Education with minors in Agribusiness Management and Biology. I grew up on a small dairy farm in Dansville, MI and love working on the farm and being outdoors. Currently, I serve as a National Teach Ag Ambassador for the National Teach Ag Campaign and as the Experience & Exchange Chair for the MSU AFNRE Club. I am excited to start my journey in Phi Sigma Pi as an initiate and can’t wait to get more involved!”

 

Sera Sermet

pic.jpg

“Hi! My name is Sera Sermet and I’m a sophomore. I’m majoring in Neuroscience and minoring in Pharmacology and Toxicology. After getting my bachelors degree, I hope to go to grad school and get my PhD in Pharmacology, so that I can work in pharmaceutical companies to help research and develop new drugs. I would love to work specifically in the Neuropharmacology field. A fun fact about me: I’ve been figure skating since I was about 8 years old. I used to be a very competitive skater, however, in high school I switched to doing it for fun. I’m currently on the figure skating team here at MSU and have been since last year. Another fun fact about me is that I’m trilingual! I can speak Turkish, Japanese and English. I have so many favorite tv shows, but if I had to narrow down my list, I’d say my top 3 are Friends, Game of Thrones and the Office. I recently started a new Netflix show called Mindhunters and I am loving it! I definitely recommend it to anyone who loves American Horror Story and Criminal Minds. I’m super stoked to be a PSP initiate and am looking forward to all the fun to come!”

 

Marwa ElShazly

unnamed-8

“Hello! My name is Marwa. I am a junior studying History with a planned specialty in Wars, Revolutions, Genocides and Uprisings. I have an identical twin, dual citizenship with lecture and love to travel! My plans after graduating are to travel a bit and complete my masters thesis in international relations and hopefully will further my education with a PhD.”

 

 

 

Adam Zalkalns

Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 8.08.46 PM

I was born in Morristown N.J. Sibling to an older brother and, son to a great father and a loving mother. My father’s side of the family dissents primarily from Latvia (if you were wondering, my last name means Green Mountain). He and his sister are 1st generation Americans – they are getting old now (lol). My mother’s side of the family is largely Italian, she is a 2nd generation American. However, many of the values and principles of Italian culture persist today. We value friends and family more than anything in the world… (I cook 80% of my meals probably has something to do with being Italian). I consider myself blessed to have such true, hardworking familial roots. There is not much more to say about myself. While, at the core I am an introvert; I thoroughly enjoy socializing. I prefer a mix between personal time and sharing it with others. My hobbies include: Sports (football, baseball, basketball, golf, and hockey), I enjoy hiking, biking/driving, kayaking, boating, hanging out on the beach, and pretty much anything outdoors or on the water. In any spare time, I’ll read the wall street journal or the New York times. When I am relaxing I’ll watch Netflix/HBO or, hop on PS4. I thoroughly enjoy music. Some of my favorite songs: “heart of gold” – Neil Young, “Acting Our Age” – Cale Dodds, “Lightning Bolt” Jake Bugg, “Sam’s Town” The Killers, “Defy you” The Offspring, “Smile” Vince Staples, “Death of a Martian” RHCP. I try to be better every day.

 

Michelle Confer

img_2559.jpg

“My name is Michelle Confer and I am a junior studying Elementary Education with a minor in Spanish and TESOL. I’m an initiate this semester so I’m part of the Alpha Phi class. I decided to rush PSP because I wanted to be part of a ig family and be able to help kids in need. My hometown is Birmingham, Michigan where I have a Schnoodle (Schnauzer/Poodle mix) named Odie that I miss every day. I also have a younger brother who is a freshman at MSU. My favorite color is purple and my favorite food is pretty much anything with cheese. Some of my favorite things to do are tutoring kids, playing the ukulele, reading, crafting, doing gymnastics and yoga.”

 

Aaron Humphries-Dolnick

screen-shot-2017-10-22-at-7-49-21-pm.png

“My name is Aaron Humphries-Dolnick, and I am a member of the Alpha Phi initiate class.  I am a Junior in Mechanical Engineering, and I come from a suburb just outside of Chicago called Skokie.  I hope to work in the automotive industry after I graduate.  I enjoy playing and coaching soccer, where I mostly play as a goalkeeper (although it’s not unusual to see me play as a defender).  My favorite soccer teams are the Chicago Fire in MLS and Barcelona in Europe.  I also enjoy watching hockey (go Blackhawks!), baseball (go Cubs!) and basketball (go Bulls 😦 ).  I am excited to be a part of PSP and can’t wait to meet everyone!”

 

Dana Gilbertson 

homestead

“My name is Dana Gilbertson, I am a sophomore studying Child Development and Elementary Education. I’m originally from Portland, Oregon, but for the last 5 years I’ve lived in Maryland. I came to Michigan State because of the highly rated education program, and I love everything that comes with being a Spartan. The experience of being a student here is something I would never change. From the friendships I’ve made the the overall quality of education I’m receiving here, coming to MSU is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. My goal is to become a first grade teacher, which is what I’ve wanted to do since I myself was in first grade. Outside of school I love volleyball, hiking and petting every and any dog I see!”

 

Jacob Bloom

Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 10.33.41 AM

My name is Jacob Bloom, I’m a sophomore, and I am an animal science and genetics major. I am currently an initiate in the alpha phi class. I am so happy to be a part of such a big and fun family at Phi Sigma Pi! This summer I got to study elephants in Thailand, which was quite possible the greatest experience of my life. I am currently pre-vet and I am applying to vet school early by the end of the year. I like to snow ski and ski in Colorado every single Christmas. I also love animals and I am currently working at the MSU sheep farm. I am and avid Mariah Carey fan (know all the lyrics to all her 90’s Bsides). I am looking forward to a great year!!!

 

Amanda Huang

unnamed-10.jpg

“Hi! My name is Amanda Huang and I am from Traverse City Michigan. I am a sophomore pre-med student thinking about majoring in BLD with a minor in Chinese. My favorite color is purple. I love food, dogs, and I speak 3 different languages. I play the violin and I wish I learned how to play the piano too. A fun fact about me is that I have broken my arms a total of 3 times and I am the unfortunate middle child.”

 

 

Rozzie Bloch

unnamed-9.jpg

“My name is Rozzie and I’m majoring in Physiology, Pre-Med in Lyman Briggs here at MSU.  You’ll probably find me playing euchre, settling catan, playing pick up sports, painting, attempting jazz on clarinet, or in the study lounge. I prefer short walks on the beach, and long swims in the water.”

 

 

 

 

Dhiloj Vigneswaran 

Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 7.57.06 PM

“Hey there! I am Dhiloj.  I am a sophomore in Michigan State University, majoring in Mechanical Engineering. I am from Sri Lanka, but I have also lived in Nigeria and Yemen. I love boxing and fixing machines up for fun! Fun fact about me: I do what I love to do and I do it obsessively.”

 

 

 

Abin Payyappilly 

dsc_8360.jpg

“Hi, My name is Abin Payyappilly, I am junior and currently a neuroscience major. I am on a pre-med track and I hope I can become a doctor one day. I love to watch movies and hangout with my friends. I act for fun with the MSU telecaster “the show” and I volunteer at the Sparrow hospital. I love socializing with new people and learning more about them and various experiences they went through. My favorite animal is a rabbity, because they are free spirit and out an about with their life.”

 

Hannah Rzeppa 

Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 8.00.44 PM

“Hi! My name is Hannah Rzeppa and I’m the Alpha Phi class president! I’m a member of the huge Hott family, and have an awesome big named Sydney Taylor. I was born and raised in Southfield, Michigan and am currently a sophomore in the Eli Broad College of Business here at Michigan State. I plan to major in supply chain management with a focus in environmental and sustainability studies. Outside of the fraternity, I belong to many other campus organizations like Women In Business, Challah For Hunger, Supply Chain Management Association, Jewish Women’s Forum and Teva, an outdoor group. During the week you can find me working at the service center desks in the West Circle neighborhood or trying to cook something delicious.”

Leave a Reply

