Featured Brother: Colin Craddock

Colin is a sophomore from Jackson, Michigan studying International Relations within James Madison College and minoring in Italian. He was inducted into the Beta Sigma Chapter of Phi Sigma Pi as part of the Alpha Tau class in the Fall of 2016. Colin was T-Shirt Chair during his initiate semester and is currently on the Public Relations Committee. Since being at Michigan State University, he has enriched his college experience through becoming a tour guide, studying abroad in Italy and joining Phi Sigma Pi. Colin is extremely passionate about travel and loves how the brotherhood of Phi Sigma Pi not only has several Brothers who have studied abroad, but attracts people from various backgrounds with different college experiences and diverse stories to share.

Words from Colin:

One of the best experiences I have had since being at MSU was studying abroad in Florence, Italy during the Summer of 2016 in the Italian Language, Literature, and Culture Program. I stayed with a host family in the heart of Florence that introduced me to a variety of traditional Italian meals, helped improve my language skills, and opened my eyes to a new way of living. Everyday I woke up under the Tuscan sun, I was walking distance from iconic landmarks such as the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio, and the Galleria dell’Accademia. Some of my favorite memories include weekend trips to small Italian villages, hiking the Cinque Terre, and taking time to cross Amsterdam off my bucket list. I’ll also never forget my Italian teacher that I had in Florence who made an amazing impact on my life. I returned to the United States carrying extra weight from the excessive amounts of pizza, gelato, and pasta I had consumed, but also with a piece of Italy becoming a newfound part of who I am.

 

Leave a Reply

